Distinguished Service Awards header

Distinguished Service Awards

Tickets are now on sale for the 2024 Distinguished Service Awards luncheon, taking place on Wednesday, February 21, 2024 in Edmonton!

Join us to celebrate the 2024 award winners:

Service to the Profession: Robert G. Harvie, K.C.
Service to the Community: Sandy Alison Vander Ziel
Service to Legal Scholarship: Professor Roderick J. Wood
Service in Promoting Equity, Diversity & Inclusion in the Legal Profession: Andy Hayher, K.C.
Special Mention: Alberta Surrogate Reform Project members


Jointly presented by the Law Society of Alberta and the Canadian Bar Association - Alberta, these prestigious awards shine a light on the outstanding contributions Alberta lawyers provide. Click here to see a full list of past recipients.

Award categories

  1. Service to the Profession
  2. Service to the Community
  3. Legal Scholarship
  4. Pro Bono Legal Service
  5. Service to Promoting Equity, Diversity & Inclusion in the Legal Profession

Nomination Details

The following information is required along with the nomination form:

  • A statement detailing why the candidate is worthy of the award;
  • A curriculum vitae outlining the nominee's background, career and any present activities that qualify them for nomination in one of the four categories, and;
  • A maximum of two letters of support for the nomination.

When the nomination and attachments are received, the nominee will be contacted to confirm their participation and willingness to accept the award if chosen. All nominations are considered for two years.


Benchers and staff members of the Law Society, staff and executive members of the Canadian Bar Association - Alberta Branch, and members of the judiciary are eligible for nomination one year after their term in office/employment ends.

All other members of the legal profession are eligible. Previous conduct record does not preclude someone from being eligible unless citations have been issued against them and those citations have not been dealt with, or are currently either suspended or disbarred. If there are questions regarding a nominee’s eligibility, the selection committee will make the final decision.

There is no “currently active member” requirement and posthumous awards can be made.


Print, scan and email, fax, or mail the nomination form, including all supplementary information (statement, cv and letters of support) to the Canadian Bar Association - Alberta Branch (information below).

Selection Procedure

Each year the awards are chosen by a selection committee comprised of Law Society and Canadian Bar Association - Alberta Branch representatives and members of the legal/academic community. 

Selection criteria:

  • role model for other lawyers
  • dedication
  • results achieved
  • creativity
  • initiative
  • individual achievement
  • obstacles overcome
  • significance of achievement
  • impact
  • effective contribution to the role of law in society


Distinguished Service Awards
Canadian Bar Association - Alberta Branch
710, 777 - 8 Avenue SW
Calgary, AB  T2P 3R5
P: 403-263-3707, F: 403-265-8581
Email: mail@cba-alberta.org