Introducing the 2024-25 CBA Alberta Board of Directors

  • May 23, 2024

Congratulations to the successful candidates in the 2024 Board election! The following new members will join the CBA Alberta Board of Directors on September 1, 2024 for the start of their two-year terms:

  • Jonathan Griffith (Law Society of Alberta, Calgary)
  • Sifa Serushago (Duke Law, St. Paul)
  • Michael Thorne (Brownlee LLP, Calgary)
  • Sierra Yanush (Bell & Stock LLP, Calgary)

We also welcome Kathy Briere (Dentons Canada, Edmonton), who was acclaimed as Branch Secretary, and will begin her five-year term on the Executive Committee ladder on September 1, 2024. Kathy will serve as CBA Alberta President in 2027-28.

They join returning Board of Directors members:

  • Robert D.L. Bassett, Incoming President
  • Christopher Samuel, Incoming Vice-President
  • Sarah Coderre, Incoming Treasurer
  • Kyle Kawanami, Incoming Past President
  • Yoko Azumaya, Director
  • R. Travis Bissett, Director
  • Sania Chaudhry, Director
  • Nerissa Young, Director

On behalf of CBA Alberta and our 5,400 members, we congratulate the successful candidates, and extend our sincere thanks to all those members who put their names forward to run in this year’s election. The depth of talent among the candidates displays the dedication of CBA Alberta members to service to the legal profession.

Visit for more information on joining the Board of Directors.