The Canadian Bar Association Alberta Branch is governed by a Board of Directors of 13 members, including an Executive Committee which is comprised of the President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary, Past President and Executive Director. The incoming Secretary is elected each year, and progresses annually to the positions of Treasurer, Vice President, President, and finally Past President, and half of the remainder of the Board is elected every year for two-year staggered terms.  The Board of Directors includes designated seats for Young Lawyers and members outside Calgary and Edmonton.

The Alberta Branch also has a number of Standing Committees covering a range of areas such as access to justice, advocacy and legislative review. Special committees and task forces are also appointed as needed.

Sections and Conferences are organized to study particular branches of law and pertinent issues of the day. All 72 provincial Sections and Conferences are administered by a Section Executive Committee.

Members registered for a Section or Conference are entitled to participate in the business and activities of that Conference, including voting and nomination for office.