The CBA Alberta Board of Directors and Secretary elections have now concluded, and we are pleased to present our incoming Branch Secretary and Board members:

Meet Your 2022-23 Branch Secretary

  Location Firm Area of Practice
Robert D.L. Bassett Calgary Alberta Justice & Solicitor General
Alberta Crown Prosecution Service
Criminal Law

Meet Your New 2022-23 Board Members

  Location Firm Area of Practice Designation
Stacey Haskins Calgary Oakley Family Law Family Law South Young Lawyer
Benjamin Kormos Calgary Walsh LLP Estate and Commercial Litigation Director at Large
Sifa Serushago St. Paul Duke Law Office Family Law, Immigration Law, and Real Estate North Lawyer (outside Edmonton)

Please join us in congratulating the successful candidates. As of September 1, they will be joining the 2022-23 Executive Committee of President Amanda Lindberg, Vice-President Indra Maharaj, Treasurer Kyle Kawanami and Past President Bianca Kratt, and continuing Board members Sania Chaudhry, Jillian Gamez, Patrick Heinsen, Adam Norget and Israel Waive. 

We also want to sincerely thank all those candidates who ran in the election this year. The strong slate of candidates that put their names forward are a credit to our membership and the profession, and we thank them for their time and participation. 

Nominations and elections for the CBA Alberta Executive Committee Secretary and open Board of Directors positions run annually in April and May, or as needed. All regular and scholar members of the association are eligible for nomination for these positions (with select Board of Directors positions reserved for young lawyers and members practicing outside of Calgary and Edmonton), and to cast a ballot. Read more about voting eligibility in Section 2.5 of the Branch Bylaws.

Click here for more information on the roles of Secretary and Board Director.